Recommendations for Tenure, Promotion to Full Professor, and Administrative Appointments

The personnel recommendations for appointments with tenure, appointments to full professor and administrative appointments, include the following:

	<u>Male</u>				Female					
	White	Black	Hispanic	Asian	Multi- Racial	White	Black	Hispanic	Asian	Multi- Racial
New Appointments										
Tenure				1		2			2	
Full Professor		3		1		1			2	
Administrative Appointments		1		1					1	
Other Actions										
Tenure Transfer	1									
Promotion of Current Employees		1								
Tenure of Current Employees Promotion of Current Employees		1							1	

Board of Governors Agenda September 25, 2015

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

WAYNE STATE UNIVERSITY

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

The President presents the following recommendations:

College of Engineering

Yingxi Zhu, for appointment as professor with tenure per University year, in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, effective August 19, 2015.

College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts

Norah Duncan, IV, for appointment as professor in the Department of Music effective August 19, 2015. Professor Duncan will serve as Chair of the Department of Music.

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

James Carr, for appointment as the Coleman A. Young Endowed Chair and professor (research) in the Department of Urban Studies and Planning effective August 19, 2015.

Shanhe Jiang, for appointment as professor with tenure per University year, in the Department of Criminal Justice, effective July 1, 2015. Professor Jiang will serve as chair of the Department of Criminal Justice.

School of Medicine

Richard Baker, for appointment as professor (clinical) in the Department of Ophthalmology effective August 1, 2015. Professor Baker will serve as Vice (Associate) Dean for Medical Education.

Maria Bykhovskaia, for appointment as professor with tenure per University year, in the Department of Neurology, effective April 27, 2015. Professor Bykhovskaia will hold a joint appointment in the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology.

Tiffany Cook, for appointment as associate professor with tenure per University year, in the Department of Ophthalmology, effective August 17, 2015.

Lawrence Diebel, for appointment as the Ford/Webber Endowed Chair in the Department of Surgery effective July 13, 2015 through June 12, 2020.

Steven Ham, for appointment as the Peter Schotanus Endowed Professor of Pediatric Neurosurgery in the Department of Neurosurgery effective September 1, 2015 through August 31, 2020.

Jian-Ping Jin, for appointment as the William D. Traitel Endowed Chair in the Department of Physiology effective June 1, 2015 through May 31, 2020.

Michael Joiner, professor, Department of Oncology, for transfer of fractional 50% tenure per University year, from the Department of Radiation Oncology to the Department of Oncology effective January 5, 2015.

Steven Lipshultz, for appointment as the Carman and Ann Adams Endowed Chair in Pediatric Research in the Department of Pediatrics effective November 1, 2013 through October 30, 2018.

Ambika Mathur, for appointment as professor with fractional 50% tenure per University year in the Department of Pediatrics, effective April 1, 2015.

Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Serrine Lau, for appointment as professor with tenure per University year in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences effective January 19, 2016. Professor Lau will serve as Dean.

Special Notes on Administrative Appointments

Graduate School

Ambika Mathur, for extension of appointment as Dean and Associate Provost effective April 1, 2015, for a term of four years, subject to the pleasure of the President or his/her designee during the term of the assignment.

Irvin D. Reid Honors College

Jerry Herron, Dean. For extension of appointment effective August 19, 2013 through August 18, 2015, and for reappointment effective August 19, 2015, for a term of five years, subject to the pleasure of the President or his/her designee during the term of the assignment.

Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Serrine Lau, for appointment as Dean, effective January 19, 2016, for a term of five years, subject to the pleasure of the President or his/her designee during the term of the assignment.

Appointments beginning August 1, 2015. Included are Instructors hired pending completions of the Ph.D. degree. Not included are sub-delegated appointments, faculty on fractional appointments, subsidy conditioned, (Research), (Clinical), and academic staff.

	FOR INFORMATION ONLY Male											
							Female					
	White	Black	Hispanic	Asian	Multi- Racial	Unknown	White	Black	Hispanic	Asian	Multi- Racial	Unknown
Appointments:												
Business Administration												
Education				1			3			1		
Engineering	2			1		1						
Fine, Performing and Communication Arts	1											
Law School												
Liberal Arts and Sciences	1						1					
School of Library and Information Science												
Medicine				3		1	3					
Nursing												
Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and							1					
Health Sciences												
Research												
Social Work University Library System	1						1					