DISCONTINUANCE OF DOCTOR OF EDUCATION IN SPECIAL EDUCATION

Recommendation

It is recommended that the Board of Governors discontinue the Doctor of Education in Special Education effective Fall 2017.

Program Description

The Teacher Education Division in the College of Education has provided the administrative home for the EdD in Special Education. The EdD required 90 credits of coursework completed at the graduate level. Students were provided seven years from admission to complete the EdD.

The Doctor of Education (EdD) in Special Education program prepared individuals for positions in institutions of higher learning, state and national education agencies, and K-12 school districts. Students were provided opportunities to develop and strengthen knowledge and skills in research and inquiry, best instructional practices for inclusive teaching, professional development, leadership, and strategies for identifying and promoting innovations.

<u>Rationale</u>

Four and a half years ago, the EdD in Special Education program was placed under an admission moratorium following a recent faculty retirement. In fall 2016 faculty lines were not being replaced, leaving only two fulltime tenured faculty in the program. Only one of the two faculty has a Graduate Faculty Appointment to supervise new students and to chair dissertation committees. Since the moratorium, a new doctoral program utilizing faculty from across disciplines has been proposed in the Teacher Education Division. Doctoral applicants who might otherwise be candidates for the EdD in Special Education may well be interested in pursuing the new program, which will appeal to a broad range of graduate students, including those pursuing advanced careers in special education.

Accommodations for Current Students

All students currently admitted to the EdD in Special Education will be allowed to complete their degree program consistent with university policy. Few students remain in the program.

Approvals

The discontinuance of this degree program has been approved by the faculty of the Teacher Education Division, the College of Education Assembly, the Office of the Dean of the College of Education, the Graduate Council, Dean of the Graduate School, and the Provost.