Office of the Secretary

The Secretary to the Board of Governors is appointed by, and serves under the direction of, the president of the university. The secretary is also elected annually by the Board of Governors, is an officer of the Board of Governors, an officer of the university, and is a member of the university's executive leadership team.

The Office of the Secretary is both an administrative office and a service unit. The office provides service to the eight-member elected Board of Governors; coordinates all functions related to the formal and informal meetings of the board; maintains official records of all actions, statutes, policies and fees approved by the board; and interacts and corresponds with the public and the university community on matters related to the Board of Governors and to university governance. The secretary corresponds with the public on behalf of the board on matters related to meeting policies and procedures, inquiries about communications to the board, and other matters as necessary.

The Office of the Secretary assists the president and other executive officers with the preparation of recommendations and reports to the Board of Governors and the dissemination of actions taken by the board to the broad university community following each board meeting. The Office of the Secretary maintains a website with current and past meetings, materials and records going back to 1977, and responds regularly to public inquiries about board actions.

The Secretary to the Board of Governors also serves as the Secretary of the University and is responsible for the University Seal, University Committees, University Awards and the Wayne State University Code Annotated. (Also see Officers section of the Board of Governors Bylaws).



Julie H. Miller, University Secretary and Executive Officer to the Board of Governors
Debra L. Harris, Administrative Assistant